my extra gorman boxy top

gorman is one of my favourite clothing lines in Australia, I consistently want something out of their current season, and although it’s not exactly in a price range that allows me to have a wardrobe full of the stuff, I tend to buy myself something from there a couple of times a year (usually in one of their frequent and excellent sales). These little treats are usually some of my favourite pieces of clothing.

This winter my treats from gorman were a boxy black wool top and some sneakers (pictured). For a top that is literally just black and not very exciting at all, it’s a bit weird how much I want to wear this thing all. the. time. Boxy tops might be my new favourite thing. Anyway, while I was unsuccessfully avoiding The Fabric Store winter sale, I spied some fabulous green wool knit and knew I had to have another version.

So, this top is a total copy of a gorman top I absolutely love, and now I have it in another awesome colour (this green is seriously great – I’ve never been this in love with a shade of green).

 

boxy green top

boxy green top

I used bands for the neckline, which I attached to the pattern pieces *before* I sewed the front and back together, because I wanted to keep the neckline style similar to the original.

I haven’t done a great deal of knit sewing, and although I have an overlocker, I’ve been put off by hems. This time I tried the twin-needle trick. I’ve been wary of this because I didn’t understand how a straight stitched hem would work when knits need a stretchy stitch. I finally read somewhere that the zig-zagging between the stitches at the back allows for stretch, and was convinced to give it a shot. I should probably just have trusted the millions of other very-experienced bloggers that have recommended this for knits frequently, because IT’S AMAZING and there’s zero rippling, but I like understanding *why* things work.

boxy green top boxy green top

Anyway, now I have two of my new favourite top, which I can use to see out our incredibly mild and short-lived winter. Hopefully I still love boxy tops this much next year.

2 thoughts on “my extra gorman boxy top

Comments are closed.