mo’ clothes

This year, amongst other, incredibly vague resolutions to be More Capable At Life (see hyperbole and a half for a summary of my current ability), I managed to set one identifiable goal, which is to buy no more than five new items of clothing for the year (not including things that are home-sewn, second hand, or shoes and underwear).

This is for a few reasons:

1. It might save me some cash

2. I want to stop mindlessly buying clothing items that I don’t absolutely love, and probably won’t wear much

3. I think it will encourage me to make more things (which I enjoy), or at least buy more second hand items (thus introducing less crap in the the world… blah blah blah)

I figure five items is an ok compromise for me. I like clothes. I have a lot of them, and I’m a child who likes shiny new things. If I was really committed I’d go for zero new things, but I really just want to think more carefully about my purchasing choices.

So far, I haven’t used any of my five ‘new item’ wildcards, but I have finished making a top. The pattern is Colette Patterns’ Jasmine, and the fabric a swiss dot cotton. This pattern is easy to put together and super pretty (and cut on the bias, so no zip-installation in sight), but I had to make a few fit adjustments at the back and bust.

For the sewing-interested:

I didn’t think about the fact that using facings with a reasonably sheer fabric is a bad idea, so the neckline facing initially showed through the front, and it looked terrible. I had a sulk about this, but eventually internet-problem-solved and replaced the facing with bias binding – great tutorial here. I’ll definitely remember to do this from now on when I’m using sheer fabric. Also, it looks soooo neat! Here’s what the the inside of the back collar looks like…

Huzzah!

Make + Do III is definitely happening next weekend, Saturday February 11th – 2pm. Not sure what I’ll be up to, but Brad would love some company in the garage, so if you have something messy to do, bring it!

